Maimi 101: “Tanobaru”

One of the things that comes up often in Maimi’s blog entries is the word “tanobaru”. When I do the summaries of Maimi’s blogs I like to reference it when she uses it, as it’s one of her special little things. However, as I leave it in the original Japanese, I realize there’s probably some Maimi fans who are confused as to what it means (and even moreso if they try plugging one of her entries into Google Translate…). For those fans, I’ve decided to make this update explaining the origin and meaning of “tanobaru”.

The first thing to note is that “tanobaru” is a word made-up by Maimi herself. It first appeared in her 2010/04/26 entry at the official ℃-ute blog, where she ended her entry asking her fans to also “tanobarimashou” all day long. Then, in parenthesis, she explained that “tanobaru” means to have fun while giving one’s best. It’s a combination of the two verbs “tanoshimu” and “ganbaru“. Also a verb, “tanobaru” conjugates just as “ganbaru” would. The most common conjugations that Maimi uses in her blog are “tanobarou/tanobarimashou” (“Let’s tanobaru”), “tanobatte-kudasai” (“Please tanobaru”), and “tanobatte-imasu/tanobatte-kimasu” (“I am tanobaru-ing/I will tanobaru”).

As it’s a made-up word, there’s no official English translation. However, there’s no reason us Western fans can’t just use it as it is and add it to our verbal lexicon in honor of Maimi. So now that everyone reading is up on the meaning of the word, let’s tanobaru!

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for explaining that. 🙂 I also wanted to thank you for doing all of these translations. I just recently discovered this the other day, and was happy to see that someone was translating Maimi’s blog. I’ve read all your entries, and I like how you summarize what she posts, and even include what the photos are about. Keep up the awesome work. 😀

  2. shurui, nice to catch you here 😉

    and great explanation on her catchphrase B.G., i will be able to understand her blog posts even more! the fact that you enjoy these daily translations/ summaries means you are following the yajima doctrine of tanobaru!

    very topical as well… could it be that you’ve been lurking on H!O lately?!

    • Hahaha, yeah, I saw the discussion on H!O, and when I was checking the site stats here I saw that someone reached the blog by searching “yajima maimi tanobaru”, so I figured it’d be a good idea to offer an explanation.

Leave a comment